Berwick To Face Familiar Foes In Betfred Cup Group H

Berwick Rangers will go up against one side from each league in this season’s Betfred Cup after Friday evening’s draw, which was live on BT Sport Europe, saw them pitted in Group H alongside Scottish Premiership play-off winners Kilmarnock, Championship Greenock Morton, League One side Albion Rovers and League Two Clyde.

The draw will throw up some familiar ties for the ‘Gers, with Berwick having faced off against all four of the West-coast based opponents within the past two seasons.

Berwick ran Kilmarnock close at Rugby Park as recently as August 2015, but as the game worn on fitness levels showed and Berwick succumbed to a 4-1 defeat, surrendering after pulling level to 1-1 through Darren Lavery.

The ‘Gers also travelled to Cappielow in August 2014 in League Cup action, but were also shown the exit, suffering a 2-1 defeat despite a spirited effort.

Albion Rovers meanwhile have proved tough opposition for the ‘Gers in both league and cup action over recent years, though the ‘Gers did enjoy a 1-0 victory at Cliftonhill back in December 2014, a key moment in the club’s Scottish Cup quarter-final run in 2014. Former Dream Teamer Paul Willis currently plies his trade for the Rovers.

Barry Ferguson’s Clyde are the final opposition for the ‘Gers in a match-up which will see Ewan McNeil come up against his former teammates earlier than planned, having signed for The Bully Wee on a pre-contract deal last week.

Further information on fixture dates, kick-off times and venues will follow soon. The full draw for the Betfred Cup Group Stage is as follows:

North Section:

Group A: Dundee, Dumbarton, Peterhead, Forfar Athletic, East Fife.

Group B: St Johnstone, Falkirk, Brechin City, Stirling Albion, Elgin City.

Group C: Inverness Caledonian Thistle, Dundee United, Dunfermline Athletic, Arbroath, Cowdenbeath.

Group D: Ross County, Raith Rovers, Alloa Athletic, Cove Rangers, Montrose

South Section:

Group E: Partick Thistle, Queen of the South, Stenhousemuir, Queen’s Park, Airdrieonians.

Group F: Motherwell, Rangers, Stranraer, East Stirlingshire, Annan Athletic.

Group G: Hamilton Academical, St Mirren, Edinburgh City, Livingston Ayr United.

Group H: Kilmarnock, Greenock Morton, Berwick Rangers, Albion Rovers, Clyde.