End of season award winners announced

May be an image of 4 people and people standing

Following yesterday’s 0-0 draw at home to Spartans, club officials, players and supporters gathered across the road in the Black and Gold for the club’s annual end of season awards ceremony.

Club secretary, Dennis McCleary, hosted the event, and would be confirmed as the new Honorary President following a lengthy spell as Honorary Vice-President. It was also revealed that the role he vacates will be filled by club legend Eric Tait.

End of season award winners:

Representative of a season where the ‘Gers have been much-improved in general, four different players scooped awards on the evening.

Versatile defender David Ferguson won the coveted Players’ Player of the Year award, and also received the plaudits of club officials as he was named Directors’ Player of the Year. The influential defender has made 35 appearances in total this season, chipping in going forward with 5 assists.

Testament to the club’s defensive improvement this season, Captain Jamie Pyper scooped the Steven Mitchell Memorial award for solid efforts throughout his 33 appearances this season, with that particular Player of the Year award voted for by Berwick Juniors.

New this year was the David Spence Supporters Player of the Year award, voted for by members of Berwick Rangers Supporters Trust and Berwick Rangers Supporters’ Club, and aiming to honour Davie’s significant contribution to the club and supporters organisations throughout his lifetime. Graham Taylor’s explosive first season in Black and Gold was also recognised, with the exciting winger scooping the award. Graham was also named Social Media Player of the Year after racking up votes in the club’s post-home game social media man of the match  award votes throughout the season.

Talented youngster Ciaran Heeps was named Young Player of the Year as he scooped the Raymond Hogg award, while Helena and Sean Jackson won the Josser Johnson award for their outstanding voluntary contributions to the club over the years.

The club would like to congratulate all of the winners and thank the entire squad, as well as officials and volunteers, for their efforts this campaign.