23-24 End of season awards

Following yesterday’s 2-1 win at home to Albion Rovers in front of over 500 Gets’ fans, club officials, players and supporters gathered in the JB Lounge for the club’s annual end of season awards ceremony.

Club secretary, Dennis McCleary, hosted the event expertly as ever, supported in handing out the awards from volunteers from across the club.

End of season award winners:

After a turbulent season which has seen stabilisation under the leadership of Thomas Scobbie five different players scooped awards on the evening.

Our longest servant who has played over 120 times for the Dream Team, Lewis Barr. The energetic midfielder has made 39 appearances in total this season, chipping in going forward with 5 goals.

Scottish footballs, at time point legendary striker, Liam Buchanan scooped the Steven Mitchell Memorial award for scoring efforts throughout his 20 appearances this season, with that particular Player of the Year award voted for by Berwick Juniors. These scoring efforts also seen Liam pick up top scorer as he grabbed 15 goals in his 20 appearances.

Next up was The David Spence Supporters Player of the Year award, voted for by members of Berwick Rangers Supporters’ Club, and aiming to honour Davie’s significant contribution to the club and supporters organisations throughout his lifetime. Lewis Barr’s was the recipient of this award and in collecting this bagged his second award of the evening.

Talented youngster Calum Mackay was named Young Player of the Year as he scooped the Raymond Hogg award, while club safety officer Phill Rowett won the Josser Johnson award for his outstanding voluntary contributions to the club over the years.

Further awards went to Jamie Stevenson (Social Media MOTM) and club captain Jamie McCormack, who won Director’s POTY.

Club Physio Lizzie Martin was thanked for her efforts over the last few seasons by Gers’ boss Thomas Scobbie Dean Shanks as she leaves Shielfield Park to take up a full time role at St. Mirren.

The club would like to congratulate all of the winners and thank the entire squad, as well as officials and volunteers, for their efforts this campaign.